Csuc Logo

African Humanities Programme Announces 2015 Fellows

Thirty-seven emerging African scholars were awarded fellowships in the seventh year of the African Humanities Program (AHP), a multi-year initiative of annual, international competitions funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York and administered by the American Council of Learned Societies. The 2015 cohort of AHP Fellows reflects the breadth and vibrancy of the humanities in Africa today, with topics ranging from gender politics to medical ethics and contemporary black opera.

AHP Dissertation Fellows
AHP Postdoctoral Fellows

The humanities are basic to every society’s understanding of itself, its neighbors, and the wider world. The AHP is committed to advancing the humanities as a core component of higher education in Africa, because it is indispensable to economic growth and social development. The AHP offers fellowships for the completion of PhD dissertations and for postdoctoral research and writing by early career scholars. Stipends provide a year free from teaching, enabling scholars to devote full time to their projects. In addition, AHP Fellows are offered residencies for writing at internationally renowned research centers in Africa.

Applications are evaluated and awards are determined by an international committee of senior scholars from African universities in a rigorous process of peer review.
In addition to fellowships, the AHP organizes two annual Manuscript Development Workshops for fellows who have completed book manuscripts. The African Humanities Series, a collaboration between the AHP and University of South Africa Press, publishes selected manuscripts resulting from AHP fellowships.

Application materials for the upcoming competition (2015-16) will be available in early September. The programme is open to humanities scholars in Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, and Uganda. The deadline for the 2015-16 competition is November 2, 2015.

The American Council of Learned Societies is the leading private institution supporting scholars in the humanities. In the 2014-15 competition year, ACLS awarded over $16 million to nearly 350 scholars worldwide.

Professor Naana J. S. Opoku-Agyemang
Miinister for Education

Scroll to Top